Knox County

Knox County is made up of 16 towns to include Appleton, Camden, Cushing, Friendship, Hope, Isle au Haut, North Haven, Owls Head, Rockland, Rockport, Saint George, South Thomaston, Thomaston, Union, Vinalhaven, Warren and Washington. Matinicus Isle is an island plantation in Knox County. The island is located within Penobscot Bay about 20 miles east of the mainland coast and is accessible by ferry from Rockland or by air taxi from Knox County Regional Airport. The Knox County seat is in Rockland. The County is named for American Revolutionary War and Secretary of War, Henry Knox. He lived in the County from 1795 until his death in 1806. The County was established on April 1, 1860, and is the most recent County to be created in Maine. It was carved from parts of Waldo and Lincoln Counties. According to the U.S. Census Bureau, the County has a total area of 1,144 square miles, of which 365 square miles is land and 779 square miles (68%) is water. It is the second-smallest County in Maine by land area. As of the 2010 United States Census, there were 39,736 people, 17,258 households, and 10,662 families residing in the County.

CPPC is proud to be establishing its first ever Family Resource Hub in Rockland. Unable to make it into the Hub in Rockland? No worries! CPPC will also be establishing a “Mobile” Family Resource Hub that will be visiting the other Knox County locations by utilizing the outlying town offices, schools, churches, etc. Check this site ongoing for updates to find out when the Mobile Family Resource Hub may be coming to a location near YOU!


Committee Meetings



CPPC is now up and running in Knox County! On November 8, 2017 an Open House was held at the new Family Resource Hub located on the lower level of the Rockland Public Library. This hub will offer...MORE